Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content

2019 Rural Electric Youth Tour

2019 Rural Electric Youth Tour
Licking juniors competing in the 2019 Rural Electric Youth Tour
included from left:
Bailie Joyner, Samantha Lavely, and Hannah Tillery.

High school juniors from across Intercounty Electric’s service territory recently gathered in the auditorium at the cooperative’s Licking office to compete for an all expense paid trip to Washington D.C. Each school submitted their top three essay winners to compete; one student from each school is eligible to win the trip to Washington D.C and the two runners up win an all expenses paid trip to a leadership conference in Jefferson City. One by one, each student is interviewed on topics relating to rural electric cooperatives and Intercounty. The competition was intense and each school was represented by highly motivated and intelligent students. Congratulations is due to all of these juniors and they should truly be proud of their accomplishments as tomorrow’s leaders.
The first place winners to the Washington D.C. trip this coming June are as follows: Samantha Lavely, Licking; Connor Wilson, Houston; Caden Davis, Plato; Katrina Parks, Salem; Adrian Fleetwood, Cabool; Patrick Hawkins, Summersville; Gwendolynn Kincaid, Mtn. Grove; and Michelle Doyle, St. James.
The winners for the Jefferson City trip are: Hannah Tillery and Bailie Joyner, Licking; Jaekan Moss, Houston; Isabel Phillips, Plato; Sydney Neseth and Nickolas Stark, Summersville; and Miya Carroll and Jessica Lada, Mtn. Grove.


Last Weeks Top Story