Academic Reception

Fourth grade students honored included front from left: Taylor Hicks, Jonathan Hofstetter, James Cornelius, Devin Berriault, Gwendolyn Campbell, Rosemary Wald, Lydia Robertson, Josephine Gifford, and J’sai Leahy. Back row from left: Morgan Stone, Madison Weikel, Ashlyn Creech, Conway Adey, Avery Stephens, Kylee Rinne, Ava Walker, Hannah Beasley, Lillian Godi, and Reese Crossgrove.
On Tuesday, April 2, the Licking R-VIII School District held their 18th annual Academic Reception in the FEMA gym. The reception honored fourth and fifth grade students who qualify as proficient or advanced in math AND communication arts.

Elementary Principal Brad Cooper welcomed students and their families. Fourth grade teacher Suzie Blackburn made introductions.

The guest speaker of the evening was long-time educator Mr. Dave Barnes. Many of his former students can attest to his particular skill in making the learning experience fun.

Fourth grade teacher Kendra Goforth presented fourth grade awards. Fourth grade students honored included: Conway Adey, Hannah Beasley*, Devin Berriault*, Gwendolyn Campbell, James Cornelius, Ashlyn Creech, Reese Crossgrove*, Cayden Evans, Josephine Gifford*, Lillian Godi*, Keely Gorman, Landon Green*, William Hackman, Taylor Hicks*, Jonathan Hofstetter, Jada Lay, J’sai Leahy, Amelia Peterson, Ashley Puhrmann, Kylee Rinne*, Lydia Robertson*, Bella Routh*, Avery Stephens*, Morgan Stone*, Rosemary Wald*, Ava Walker*, and Madison Weikel*. 

Elementary art teacher Connie Buckner presented the fifth grade with their awards, with the following students honored: Zachary Andrews*, Hannah Britton, Zoey Buckner, Addison Floyd*, Ryder Ingram*, Autumn Johnson, Emily Johnston, Jaxon Kuhn, Michael Lyons, Cason Malone, Gracelynn McGuire, Katelyn Mitchell, Abigail Penn, Isaac Rinne*, Elijah Routh, Kolten Sullins*, Miranda Torrans*, Noah Umfleet*, Joshawa Wade, Amelia Webb*, and Emilie Williams. 

Fourth grade teacher Suzie Blackburn presented the attending sixth graders with awards, with the following students earning honors: Jaston Black, Walker Britton*, Kannon Buckner, Halee Clayton*, Ralee Clayton*, Kale Cook*, Aiden Crow, Zoey Dawson, Dalton Drennon, Cameron Frost, Aubrey Gorman, Kadyn Hall, Christian Hawn*, Lucas Henderson, Allie Hock*, Kameryn Lane, Abbigail Massie, Cole McCloy*, Allie Medlock, Damian Parrish, Titus Scavone*, Landen Schaper, Kindal Sevedge, Alex Sprouse, Roston Stockard, Linzie Wallace*, Josie Wells, and Abbigail Wilson.

Those with an (*) after their name were invited to the Duke University Talent Identification Program’s prestigious 4th-6th grade Talent Search.

Fifth grade students honored included front from left: Noah Umfleet, Isaac Rinne, Michael Lyons, Joshawa Wade, and Emilie Williams. Back: Kolten Sullins, Zachary Andrews, Zoey Buckner, Addison Floyd, and Miranda Torrans.

Sixth grade honorees included, from left: Abbigail Massie, Kameryn Lane, Kadyn Hall, Halee Clayton, Aubrey Gorman, Ralee Clayton, Allie Medlock, and Cameron Frost.



Last Weeks Top Story