The 86th Annual FFA Banquet

Photo by Shari Harris
These FFA members were awarded their Greenhand FFA Degrees May 10 at their Chapter Banquet.
By Shari Harris,
On Friday, May 10, the Licking High School FFA Chapter held its 86th annual banquet in the Sherman Hill Field House. The evening began with opening ceremonies by the current year’s officer team: President Justin Leyburn, 1st Vice President Quinton Trout, 2nd Vice President Jayson Wallace, Secretary Savannah Culley, 2nd Secretary Rae-Ann Gray, Treasurer Evan Mitchell, Assist. Treasurer Dalton Gale, Reporter Sarah Warnock, Assist. Reporter Allie Steiner-Gale, Sentinel Tanner Enfield, Assist. Sentinel Dalton Ogden, Co-Historians Autumn Bailey and Abigale Scott, Parliamentarian Kaleb Keaton and Co-Chaplins Spencer Grover and Colten Barton.
President Justin Leyburn welcomed attendees. After the national anthem and an invocation, dinner was served. The meal was catered by Chantil Richards, Country Seasons Catering and was a fine offering of pulled pork, Texas taters, baked beans, coleslaw, hot rolls and desserts.
The guest speaker of the evening was Sean Loughridge, retired Licking FFA President. Loughridge presented words of encouragement for upcoming FFA members.
The Greenhand FFA degrees were handed out by FFA Advisor Van Kirkwood to Justus Barred, Stetson Beppler, Ryan Bever, Levi Cantrell, Kaleigh Fox, John (KC) Freeman, Matthew Funk, Cory Gant, Cody Hardy, Clifford Hawn, William Horton, Casey Huff, Jordan Krewson, Megan Loughridge, Damon McGaughey, Robert McGuire, Sidney Midkiff, Regan Miller, Liam Rainer, Kasey Richards, Spencer Rogers, Allison Scott, Parker Shoults, Rylee Smith and Deszeray Warren.
Chapter FFA degrees followed this, in recognition of the further work required to take this next step. Students earning the Chapter Degree were Colton Barton, Trenton Barton, Chance Campbell, Alex Corkell, Denver Culley, Eli Curran, Westin Davis, Nathan Freeman, Dalton Gale, Matthew Gale, Rae-Ann Gray, Kaleb Keaton, Joel Neudeck, Dalton Ogden, Abigale Scott, Allie Steiner-Gale, Kyra Taylor and Jayson Wallace.
Photo by Shari Harris
Chapter FFA Degrees were awarded to these FFA members for their ongoing accomplishments throughout the year.
Awards were given to Star Greenhand Megan Loughridge, Star Chapter Placement Allie Steiner-Gale, Star Chapter Agribusiness Dalton Ogden and Star Chapter Farmer Jayson Wallace.
The Outstanding Member Award goes to a FFA member who has excelled in FFA participation and leadership in conducting FFA activities. This year’s awards went to: Freshman Clifford Hawn, Sophomore Jayson Wallace, Juniors Quinton Trout and Tanner Enfield and Senior Savannah Culley.
The DEKALB Agricultural Accomplishment Award, sponsored by Monsanto, is presented to one FFA student per chapter who exemplifies scholarship, commitment and work ethic. This year’s award went to Justin Leyburn.
Several students showed outstanding qualities in the FFA and earned Leadership Awards this year. They were Justin Leyburn, Quinton Trout, Jayson Wallace, Kyra Taylor, Savannah Culley, Tanner Enfield, Ryan Bever, Clifford Hawn, Megan Loughridge, Allie Steiner-Gale, Sarah Warnock and Dalton Ogden.
Scholarship awards are given to top students with the highest scholastic ability inside and outside of the FFA. This year’s awards went to Kaleigh Fox, Clifford Hawn, Vail Smith, Cainan Hutsell, Kasey Richards, Matthew Funk, Haley Long, Katelynn Wilson, Kaleb Keaton, Allie Steiner-Gale and Sarah Warnock.
The top students showing outstanding community service in the FFA this year earned Service Awards. These students included Dalton Ogden, Tanner Enfield, Abigale Scott, Jayson Wallace, Justin Leyburn, Quinton Trout, Tristin Hall, Savannah Culley, Cody Hardy, Alyssa Cooper, Sarah Warnock, Allie Steiner-Gale, Clifford Hawn, Rae-Ann Gray, Matthew Funk, Ryan Bever, Kyra Taylor and Megan Loughridge.
Chapter Proficiency Awards were awarded to Rae-Ann Gray in Agricultural Communications; Dalton Ogden in Agricultural Sales-Placement, Beef Production Placement, and Forage Production; Quinton Trout in Beef Production Entrepreneurship and Forage Production; Tristin Hall in Environmental Science and Natural Resources; Savannah Culley in Food Science and Technology; Sarah Warnock in Food Science and Technology, Fruit Production, Poultry Production and Vegetable Production; Katelynn Wilson in Food Service; Tanner Enfield in Goat Production; Kyra Taylor in Outdoor Recreation and Justin Leyburn in Specialty Animal Production.
Justin Leyburn provided his retiring address as outgoing chapter president. Then Abigale Scott and Kyra Taylor announced the recipients of an Industry Recognized Credential (IRC) certificate, which was awarded to each student who completed the required education/training and demonstrated proficiency in one or more of 15 Career Development Events throughout the year. These students were recognized for each certificate they earned.

Advanced State Degrees were earned by Quinton Trout, Savannah Culley, Katelynn Wilson and Cheyenne Lewis. Katelyn Gale and Megan Bever earned their American Degrees this year.
Between awards, seniors Katelynn Wilson, Savannah Culley, and Elizabeth Ellis each presented their senior reflections to help guide and encourage underclassmen and to thank their families for their support.
The Licking FFA Chapter awarded honorary membership to four members of the community this year for their outstanding assistance and guidance. They were Robert Enfield, Brooke Kuhn, Jay Thompson and Daniel Hatch. Many other members of the community were thanked for their support throughout the year and received certificates of appreciation.
The outgoing officers handed over their offices to the new officers: President Jayson Wallace, 1st Vice President Quinton Trout, 2nd Vice President Kyra Taylor, Secretary Sarah Warnock, 2nd Secretary Megan Loughridge, Co-Treasurers Alyssa Cooper and Vail Smith, Co-Reporters Allie Steiner-Gale and Abigale Scott, Co-Sentinels Dalton Gale and Dalton Ogden, Historian Rae-Ann Gray, Co-Parliamentarians Clifford Hawn and Ryan Bever and Chaplin Spencer Grover. The new officers stepped into their predecessors’ places, meeting their responsibilities with the closing of the ceremony.
FFA Advisor Van Kirkwood expressed his pride in all the FFA students honored during the evening. Their remarkable accomplishments give them a solid base for a stellar future.



Last Weeks Top Story