Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content

Ozark Rivers Earth Day Contest winners announced

Submitted Photo
Phelps County R-III students Madison Violin, Kilee McKnight, James Camenisch, Winter Dayton and Madison Hamby pose with certificates and prizes awarded for their placings in the Annual Ozark Rivers Solid Waste Management District Poster, Trash Art and Graphic Design contest.


(ST. JAMES)—Ozark Rivers Solid Waste Management District (ORSWMD) announced 42 Phelps County students were honored with first and second place awards and honorable mentions in the Annual Earth Day Poster, Trash and Graphic Art contest. This year’s contest theme was “Be Waste Wise.”
“The Ozark Rivers Earth Day Art Contest has touched the lives of many students in the district,” said Jill Hollowell, Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC) environmental specialist. “It is so exciting for students to be recognized and rewarded for their creativity. The contest also provides educators with activities in alignment with each year’s theme. This year the contest expanded through local art gallery showings. Student art was displayed at Art Works on Main in Owensville, Gallery Zeke in Steelville and The Centre in Rolla, hosted by Arts Rolla. We invite all students in the Ozark Rivers district to enter the contest as the goal is to increase participation and continue to inspire student creativity and environmental awareness.” 
The contest required participants to re-purpose trash into three-dimensional pieces of art or create posters (hand drawn or graphically designed), based on this year’s theme. There were 518 entries from 14 schools. The contest was open to kindergarten through 12th grade, homeschool, college and university students who reside or attend school in Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties.
“The Earth Day contest is one of the highlights of the year,” said Tammy Snodgrass, MRPC’s environmental program manager. “The kids are so creative – I love seeing the unique ways they express themselves through art. The whole process – from creating a poster on the theme to creating art from trash – and then providing awards that are made from recycled materials – it’s a great way to educate our children on the environment.”
Winners from Phelps County were:
• Henry and Rachel Lane, Second Place, 1st grade, Lane Homeschool;
• Audree Martin, Honorable Mention and Berlin Barton, Hon. Mention, 1st grade, Lucy W. James Elementary;
• Javayah Stevens, First Place; Byron Miller, Hon. Mention; Hayden Barker, Hon. Mention; Lily Hudson, Hon. Mention and Gavin Johnson, Hon. Mention, 2nd grade, Mark Twain Elementary;
• Erin Henson, First Place; Faith Huskey, Hon. Mention and Mohamed Kassin, Hon. Mention, 3rd grade, Mark Twain;
• McKenzie Drew, Second Place and Akaela Caquelin, Hon. Mention, 6th grade, Newburg Jr. H.S.;
• James Camenisch, Hon. Mention; Madison Violin, Hon. Mention and Kilee McKight, Hon. Mention, 6th grade, Phelps Co. R-III (PCR-III);
• Madison Hamby, First Place and Madison Falkenrath, Hon. Mention, 7th grade, PCR-III;
• Mary Rosa, Second Place, 7th grade, Newburg Jr. H.S.;
• Alivea Hall, Hon. Mention; Annastyn Covey, Hon. Mention; Sarah Parker, Hon. Mention and Zoe Bristow, Second Place, 7th grade, Rolla Jr. H.S.;
• Aeriana Brandt, First Place; Eli Birdsong, Hon. Mention; Emma Affolter, Hon. Mention and Jordan Elphick, Hon. Mention, 8th grade, Newburg Jr. H.S.;
• Winter Dayton, Hon. Mention, 8th grade, PCR-III;
• Destiny Drescher, First Place; Alexa Foltz, Second Place; CJ Lackey, Hon. Mention; Coltin Counts, Hon. Mention and Emily Smith, Hon. Mention, 11th grade, Rolla Technical Institute (RTI);
• Riley Jackson, Second Place, 11th grade, Newburg H.S.;
• Lorianne Prewet, First Place and Clayton Oliver, Hon. Mention, 12th grade, Newburg H.S.;
• Cheyenne McNeill, First Place; Emily Jackson, Second Place; Abby Bunch, Hon. Mention; Connor England, Hon. Mention and Elizabeth Lawing, Hon. Mention, 12th grade, RTI; and
• Ashley Thompson, Hon. Mention, college, RTI.
Phelps County students participating in the contest were under the direction of teachers Kari Lane (Lane Homeschool), Amanda Peery (Newburg Jr. H.S. and H.S.), Allison Patterson (Phelps Co. R-III), Karen Morgan (Mark Twain Elementary), Rhonda Kopplemann (Rolla Jr. H.S.), Teresa Conway (Lucy W. James Elementary) and Angi Yowell (RTI).
Judges for the contest included Karen Groom and Tish Gibson with Phelps County Bank of Rolla, Samantha Kinsey and Catie Scott with Mid America Bank of Belle and Melaine Swope with Cuba Vet Clinic. The identities of the students and their schools were concealed during the judging process.
The 2019 Earth Day contest was funded through an ORSWMD grant, made possible through the Missouri Department of Natural Resources (MDNR), along with donations from the following area sponsors: Cuba Veterinary Clinic, Noah Coleman Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution, Phelps County Bank, Mid-America Bank, Kaleidoscope Discovery Center, Central Federal and Legends Bank.
For more information about ORSWMD or waste reduction and recycling opportunities in the Ozark Rivers area visit www.ozarkrivers.org, find us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/ORSWMD, or contact Tammy Snodgrass, MRPC environmental programs manager, or Jill Hollowell at 573-265-2993.


Last Weeks Top Story