Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content

School Board members recognized

                                                                                                                                          Photo Submitted
Licking R-VIII School District Board of Education members were recognized for their dedicated service at the Monday, January 13, regular meeting. (Front row, left to right) Brad Smith (President), 15 years of service; Roy Kinder (Vice President), 16 years of service; Jason Derrickson (Secretary), 10 years of service; (back row, left to right) Rawly Gorman, 8 years of service; Mike Hammond, 14 years of service; Alan Quick, 3 years of service; Jeremy Rinne, 2 years of service.
Each year during the months of January or February, Licking R-VIII, along with school districts across the state honor the countless contributions of these locally elected advocates for Missouri schoolchildren and public schools.
Serving as a Licking R-VIII School District School Board Member is one of the most important responsibilities in our society – helping plan for and protect the education of the children of our community. Decisions of these seven members affect the lives of students and their parents, the livelihoods of those the district employs and the economic well being of the community.
In the state of Missouri, approximately 918,000 students are enrolled in 567 school districts. Unlike school board members in many other states, Missouri school board members receive no compensation for their service, receiving only the satisfaction that comes from shaping the future of our community. Our district benefits from the financial donations, tireless work and countless hours contributed by these local citizens. Serving as a crucial link between the community and classroom, our Board is responsible for an annual budget of $7.6 million, 842 students, 131 employees and all our facilities on campus.
It’s more important than ever before that our community supports public education so that today’s students are prepared to be productive citizens and the leaders of tomorrow. Please share your appreciation with our local school board members for their selfless service and volunteerism. 


Last Weeks Top Story